IT’S NOT YESTERDAY ANYMORE- 2010

This past new years eve I was given two small pieces of purple construction paper and told to write ‘1 really terrible thing ’ and ‘1 really great thing’ about 2010 on them and then throw them into a bonfire. It was supposed to be symbolic, so I wrote ‘Patrick Garcia’ on both. Beats writing ‘ugh, my ex gf’ or ‘the Lakers!’.

That being said, the following blog entry is a ‘tips of the iceberg’ type display of experiences I was fortunate to have been granted during the year that was 2010. Tremendous chunks of life are, predictably, not here, immersed beneath the surface of social decency and proprieties. Mainly, fodder for chisme. But aside, I’m writing this for myself, family, and the few friends brave enough to skim across the tips of these submerged blocks of ice. So, here we go.

/ / /

FUN DAY. – 3.21.10

This was exhausting. This was strenuous. But, it was ultimately ‘fun’ and was, (sure i’ll get heat for this) in my opinion, the strongest display of ‘legit’ indie music the valley had seen in a while. Here was the lineup:

It was also the first and last time Sam and I put on a ‘showcase’. The event had it’s quirks behind the scenes, but what made it all worthwhile were the ‘positive vibes’ that hovered over the event throughout the day and into the night. Japanther played through a cloud of confetti, Dawes floored everyone, and Miniature Tigers were glowing. Look.

Incohero played a short set because the cops tried to shut the event down, but that turned out to be, in predictable McAllen PD fashion, a load of pig shit. Aside, everything was beautiful and everything was worth it.

25th Birthday / EP Photoshoot at the McAllen Creative Incubator

If I were to encapsulate my 25th year into one night, I would paint the series of events that occurred on this colorful night on a vase and argue that it’s my Grecian Urn for 2010. Basically, this was a last minute photoshoot / show for The Young Maths that had, in a nutshell, small aspects of my 25th year: friends, awkward tension, anxieties with the McAllen police department, the young maths playing on a floor, a white whale, great friends, lots of sweat, and fear. Also, great, great times. The best part was the reason for hosting this photo shoot: shows were banned within the Incubator auditorium, so, because I had access to the rest of the facilities, which involved several classrooms on the side of the Incubator auditorium, we opted to do this in a classroom. We didn’t tell any of the according authorities what we did, and if they know, then they’re the greatest people in the world for not busting my balls about it. The second best part was this:

Fun times. Also, best birthday ever. Thanks to Trae Valdez, Jenny Tron, Outwithme, and Furious George for snapping and capturing this night.

GRADUATION / RELEASE OF THANK YOU GOOD NIGHT WE ARE… – 5.14.10

In May of this past year I graduated from UTPA with a masters degree in Literature and “Cultural Studies” on the same day that The Young Maths released our EP, Thank You, Goodnight! We are…. It’s a day of note. The masters degree got me a .75 cent raise at work; the EP and the effects it’s had on my life since make my days at work way more interesting when I’m staring into the ceiling’s reflection in my cup of black coffee, hungover, and thinking about how everyone else stayed home last night and read books.

MINIATURE TIGERS AT CINE EL REY – 6.6.10

Shows like these represent success on all realms for a promoter. Let me explain. The opportunity to work with Mini Ts in June of 2010 was presented to me immediately after Sam and I had FUN DAY in March. Naturally, we were hesitant because it’s typically not safe for bands to play the same market within a close time radius due to the fear of people thinking ‘ahh wtf. This band JUST played here. I’m not going’. But we decided to go through with it anyway and gave Arrgh!drey, They Mean Us, and Pickled Ducks the opening spots. The result was their largest turnout to date and showed how a genuinely good touring band can plant a curious crowd with CDs and return months later to a blossom of fresh, vibrant new fans. In their case, it was 300+.

photo cred: urban rage

GOODBAR PROD. HIATUS TURNS ‘TERMINALLY CHILL’ – 2007-2010

I love Sam Martinez- never stopped. But the rise and demise of Goodbar Productions had to happen. People live life, experience its trivialities, and analyze these resounding effects with reason, wisdom, and their personality – and then we grow. Sam and I, independently, lived hard throughout the length of the production’s history, so naturally we grew as people. That’s expected. But it was our show beliefs that were what grew apart. Sam’s still throwing his shows, and, on occasion, I’m focusing on the sprinkle I’ll be doing. Again, I still love Sam, and there is still hope for genuine artists to be showcased uniquely within the valley.

THE YOUNG MATHS AT THE MOHAWK – 8.17.10

This was the first significant out of town show we played as a band and it all felt massive that it went down at my favorite venue in the city. This was also the first time The Young Maths played to a large crowd made up of a demographic outside the safety blanket of our geographical context. I can still feel the pale yellow heat of the stage lights warming the arc of my small, sloped forehead. Beads of sweat, salt. This was the most intense, important, and emotionally enthralling show of the year for me. Mos def. I’m glad I was able to, with some help from friends, pull this together for the guys.

DIGNAN + The Rocketboys + Arrgh!drey @ THE INCUBATOR – 11.20.10

Yall, this was just fun as hell. I mean, just look at all these pictures. Shit.

Here’s one of my favs from that night. Totally aware Dignan isn’t in it, but i felt good. Good and successful and around beautiful women ;p

THE YOUNG MATHS SHOW AT GLASSLANDS GALLERY, NYC – 12.16.10

By the time The Young Maths arrived at the Williamsburg area of Brooklyn, we had already endured a snow storm that left us stalled in traffic for 7 hours, witnessed a car skid in ice and spiral into a wreck with a highway median, and been put through our first ‘dead show’ in Birmingham. And now we were setting up under this massive glowing cloud thing.

If we had reached the pinnacle of hipsterdom / hipster heaven, this place was it. It felt good. Felt good because we really stuck out on a sonic and even visual aesthetic (we weren’t playing out of laptops) and it was felt and generally, it was liked. I made a lot of things happen this year, and this was one of my proudest moments.

THE YOUNG MATHS EAST COAST TOUR- 12/8/10 –

This is still happening as I type this out at the house / venue we played our NYE show at in Wichita KS. The road has been kind, moody, cold as ice, smooth. The tour has been driving, sleeping, playing to crowds and then feeling like Lilliput, feeling humbled, night in, night out, load in, load out, get paid, get fed. Never thought I’d drive through snow. Never thought I’d play in Brooklyn. Never thought I’d meet the genuinely beautiful people I’ve met this past month. I’m feelin’ like this whole thing has very ‘Odyysian” qualities: being consistently reminded of your self-imposed societal displacement. Finding the normalcy practiced at home to be absolutely unbearable from the viewpoint of travel. Feeling lost but loving the disposition and knowing that when you return you’re going to stare out your blinds in a comfy bed and manifest when you’ll get to do it again, and it’ll be promising and at worse it’ll be like that Tennyson poem when Uylsses is already old and grey but tired of sitting around doing nothing and tries to round up his bros for another hoorah but ends up just staring off into a memory disguised as a visionary foreshadow. But at least you can say you were Ulysses and that you did it. I’m still going. We’re still going. And I don’t plan to stop-yet. But there’s 9 more days left on this thing and, god willing, I am ready to get home and start planning the next one. I’m glad I had the moral support from my friends and especially my family on this venture.

/ / /

And now, lists:

SONG OF THE YEAR:
KANYE WEST : “LOST IN THE WORLD / WHO WILL SURVIVE IN AMERICA”

ALBUM OF THE YEAR:
TWIN SHADOW: FORGET

BOOK OF THE YEAR: Moby-Dick

ANIMAL OF THE YEAR: Moby-Dick.

ANIMAL OF THE YEAR I FOUND OUT I WASN’T THAT ALLERGIC TO: CAT.

PERSON OF THE YEAR: Moby-Dick.

/ / /

It’s all been good. Even the parts I meant to scribble and crumple up into a little piece of paper and throw into that bonfire last night. Missing, again, are all sorts of colorful experiences: family functions i’d rather keep private, my actual birthday, that ridiculous show at Havok Records, that time I met that dude who wrote Machete, the pitchfork music festival / trip to Chicago, that silly thing i did for Festiva, ace’ing that Renaissance Drama class, job searching, tutoring, uhm, drama in general, that amazing carnival show back in February, and so much more. I don’t think i’ll ever do something like this again because if anything it’s made me realize how not even these captured nuances do life justice. Whatever the case, If you’re reading this, thanks for being a part of it somehow. So much love.

– xo p

 

4 thoughts on “IT’S NOT YESTERDAY ANYMORE- 2010

  1. You’re an incredible writer. I love your description of
    tour-life. Keep the spirit up, see ya when you guys get back and
    Happy New Year to all of the Young Maths! -Lori

  2. a lot of my life in 2010 was affected by you in so many
    ways. In other words you deserve a huge thank you and possibly a
    giant fuck you. ❤

Leave a Reply

